top of page

Tailoring my Resume


At first, using Jobscan was a bit frustrating. I may see myself as a an excellent match for a position, but when receiving a match rate of below 50%, I really started to wonder if perhaps I wasn't as qualified as I thought I was. However, ATS is not looking for compatible information, but specific keywords. Understanding that MS might be a keyword for one position, but Microsoft for another was a revelation. If an employer is looking for "recruiting" experience, then "recruitment" might not be recognized. By ensuring that applicable skills include the specific keywords listed, the match rate increases. Another example of tailoring my resume is by providing "measurable results." This shows an employer not only that you I can do something, but how well I can apply that skill to improve outcomes. The final take away is that if I have experience in a similar job role, changing that title to more closely match the open position may be helpful. For example, my current position is Associate Registration Coordinator, however on my resume I list the function of Customer Service. This helps employers to better understand my position and role.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page